Amaranth-Macadamia Nut Protein Cookies

What is it?

It’s crunchy.

There is a delicious sushi place where I live that believes ‘crunchy’ is an ingredient.

For example, a Dragon Roll will be described as containing spicy tuna, avocado, cucumber, and crunchy.

What? Since when is crunchy a food?

In sushi terms crunchy is just little, delicious fried dough pieces…not the healthiest crunchy.

In immaeatthat terms, crunchy is amaranth.  A little, delicious grain approximately a million times healthier than sushi’s crunchy.

These cookies are naturally high in whole grains and make the perfect post workout snack or complement a yogurt and some fruit for a healthy breakfast.

Amaranth-Macadamia Nut Protein Cookies (gluten free)

makes 12 cookies

inspired by a recipe seen in Whole Living

1 1/2 cups oats, old fashioned (use gluten free if needed)

1/2 cup amaranth (uncooked)

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup macadamia nuts, roughly chopped

1/4 cup cashews, roughly chopped

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup honey

2 egg whites

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine oats, amaranth, salt, macadamia nuts, cashews and dried cranberries in a bowl.  Mix in honey and egg whites.  Stir mixture until well incorporated.  On a nonstick baking sheet,  form 12 cookies from your ‘dough’.  The cookies are a pain to stick together.  You really have to squeeze them together and then gently drop them onto the baking sheet.  While I was squeezing the dough into a cookie form, I tried to flatten them out a little so they wouldn’t be so round.  Bake for 17-20 minutes, or until golden brown.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is my entry for the Cooking Creations contest courtesy of Appliances Online and Clean Eating Chelsey.

About Kylie

Hello! My name is Kylie and imma eat that. I like to EAT. I try to make it healthy. And I love you, for being here.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Amaranth-Macadamia Nut Protein Cookies

  1. cyberflydesign says:

    Loved this recipe, and will add it to my “Best macadamia Nut Recipes” blog over at Squidoo! I Used fresh Hawaii macadamia nuts for this recipe. I get mine from http://www.maunakeagold.com. In my opinion, Hawaii produces the best Mac Nuts!

    • Kylie says:

      Thanks for the add:) Glad you liked the recipe!

      And I agree with you about Hawaii’s macadamia nuts! I’ve only spent 1 week in Hawaii but I do remember their nuts being great!

  2. jas says:

    can I replace amaranth with quinoa …how to prepare quinoa ..do I need to cook?

  3. nigel says:

    Is there anything I can substitute for oats? Would quinoa work.. and were your oats cooked or uncooked?

    • Kylie says:

      Hi! The oats were uncooked. I’m not sure how quinoa would work but in my opinion you’d need to pre cook quinoa before you used it in the recipe!

  4. This recipe gives me an idea (BTW, this blog title? LOVE.) I want to try for a thinner cookie, maybe a littleless heavy on the nuts (I eat too many nuts or legumes, everything tastes like aluminium for several hours–not dangerous, just annoying). How would this work with a nut butter or sunflower seeds, do you think? And how do you think that popping the amaranth would affect things?

    • Kylie says:

      I think the popped amaranth would actually make these easier to eat. The raw amaranth (even after it has been baked) is almost too crunchy. I’ve never popped amaranth before so I’m not sure if it would get soggy when baking in the liquid mixture.

      And I think adding nut butter to pretty much anything is a good idea because it’s so dang delicious! But I’d slightly decrease the amount of egg whites or honey if you do decide to add it in!.

      Let me know how your idea turns out…I’m sure it’ll be great!

  5. em the baker says:

    oh myyyyy. I made these with millet because I couldn’t find amaranth at Whole Foods (odd), and raisins instead of cranberries. they are nutty and crunchy and wonderful and I need to stop eating them so I have some to share with friends and eat with almond butter. but they’re just sooooo deliciousssssss…
    also, squishing the cookies together was the perfect therapeutic exercise to unwind after a long stressful day of finals. it felt like that grainy squishy stuff I always wanted when I was a kid. happiness. :]

    • Kylie says:

      FLOAM!! Or at least I think that’s what that grainy squishy stuff was called:) I seriously laughed out loud when I read your comment! I loved that stuff! And I’m glad you liked these:)) I should make them again!

      • em the baker says:

        haha yes! my mom never let me have any…I think that’s why I enjoy things with a similar texture so much now, I’m making up for my deprived childhood :)
        I made these again to use up my leftover millet, except I decided not to shape them and just baked the whole thing as granola! it is darn good. thank you for all your wonderful recipes!!

      • Kylie says:

        I hear ya on the deprived childhood! I never got a trampoline and no doubt had an unfulfilling childhood because of it! ;)

Leave a Reply

